Coming clean

Posted on July 25, 2012

0


The last I wrote was over a month ago. I think it’s safe to say that my month’s absence from this blog is representative of a month’s absence from trying to live a healthy lifestyle.

I have a long list of excuses, most of which are legitimate, but listing them is pointless because what’s done is done and the only person I need to justify my behavior to is myself. The problem is that even though I had a lot going on in the last two months, periods of time where I did not have access to the internet to track my calories/points, and times where I had no healthy alternatives to what I ate, the fact of the matter is this: I went back to poor habits and took advantage of not being able to count calories to eat until satisfaction in both taste and fullness. 

I could have written here a couple weeks ago, but I was so embarrassed by my weight gain, I wanted to wait until I returned back to my last recorded weight in this blog, which is 289.1 lb. But now that a couple weeks have passed and I am finding myself struggling with staying motivated and I’m making poor choices even though I try to count calories and I keep finding myself doing binge spurts, I think it’s safe to say that I need to return to keeping myself accountable by sharing my struggles and challenges (and failures) with others. 

The last I weighed myself, I was 296.1 lb. We’re looking at a 7-pound gain. 

I think my failure with counting calories lately is the frustration at how long it’s taking me to take off the weight. I have a few really great calorie-counting days followed by a few bad calorie-counting days. I’ve been trying to make 3 work-outs per week which are real simple 30-minute elliptical work-outs, but I think the work outs are enough for me to break even with the binging I’ve been doing. Hence the lack of loss.

So, until I feel like I’m back into a healthy groove, I am going to do my best to blog daily, even if it’s just documenting my struggles or my total calorie intake.

Changes I am making:

1. I’m setting my calorie goal to a 500/day deficit as opposed to the 750/day deficit I had before (so, now I should lose 1 pound per week, instead of 1.5 pound). This will allow me to adjust to counting calories again.

2. I’m changing my weigh-in day to Friday mornings. I think this will keep me accountable during the more stressful part of my week and will allow me to splurge a little on the weekends if I so wish to, without it affecting my weigh-in.

3. Once I am feeling better (I’m sick right now), I’m going to start adding resistance training to my work outs. 

I need to get back to a healthy me. 

Posted in: Uncategorized